In Silence - Mandala Gates Canon
The Composition is in the form of an eight bar canon. There are four entry points for each individual instrument and four vocal parts. The four parts symbolize the four gates to a Tibetan mandala. Entering through the gates assists the process of removing obstacles. The auspicious number eight is represented in the eight bars and also the eight parts. The opening of the tune is a free interpretation of the eight bar melody enhanced by the haunting Australian native sounds of the didgeridoo. The didgeridoo re-appears at the end of the song, before going into primordial space and complete silence. The next section gradually builds up to the four parts before it branches out into eight simultaneous parts of instruments and voices combined. Other instruments include the Indian bansuri, European cello and piano, and American vibraphone. The main male vocals are by a Kazakhstan vocalist and the soprano by a German vocalist. The combination of instruments, players and vocals span the world and come together in a united song. The nature of a canon is equanimity as the same musical line repeats throughout unchanged. The simultaneous occurrence of the same line in a staggered manner creates a new dimension which is bigger than each individual statement. At the same time the line never looses its integrity and authenticity. Quite the contrary - without its balanced uniqueness it would never be able to serve as the basis of the bigger picture.
31 votes
  • Ambient
  • Classical
  • Easy Listening
  • Indian
  • Instrumental
  • New Age
  • Religious / Spiritual
  • Ritual
  • Vocal
  • World
  • Background vocals
  • Bass-baritone
  • Choir
  • Soprano
  • Piano
  • Cello
  • Vibraphone/ Vibraharp
  • Bansuri
  • Didgeridoo
  • Australia
  • Germany
  • India
  • Kazakhstan
  • Nepal
  • Switzerland